DOM29​-​L - S​.​M. NURSE
LP Vinyl

Out of stock

Sold Out

The musical output by Amsterdam trio S. M. Nurse — generated in just three years of activity, 1980 to 1983 — is truly amazing by its volume and quality. We are thrilled to announce its third release in Domestica: the “That’s the Body” EP is a selection of previously unknown tracks and unreleased versions in 12” format, hand picked with one goal in mind: dancing.

“That’s the Body”  (1983) and “On And Off” (1983) are first-ever releases. On side B, we treat you to new versions of “Mort Automatique” (1981) and “Frutta”(1982), previously found on the now expensive “30th Anniversary: 1980-1983” album, released by Domestica in 2013.

A brief history:
“Around 1980 Menko Konings (eM. / No Honey From These / Plastic Cocon / Top Tape) started the legendary Amsterdam underground formation S.M. Nurse, first together with Jos Jak and later also with Anneke Stempher. S.M. Nurse experimented with collage-like music and were inspired by N.Y.-ultra, disco e.g. The band mainly performed in the Amsterdam ultra-circuit, such as Oktopus on the Keizersgracht and D-Day in Paradiso. They also performed at clubs and discotheques such as Mazzo on the Rozengracht and the transgender nightclub Madame Arthur in the Warmoesstraat.

Pretty soon, S.M. Nurse was noticed by radio programme maker Richard Zeilstra from the Dutch broadcaster the VPRO and they were played regularly on radio programmes such as RadioNome and Spleen. They performed live on radio in the villa of the VPRO in Hilversum. They also contributed to the theme cassette Turkish Delight of van Kaye & Ignit’s tapes and record label Ding Dong. Among releases were a live registration on a bootleg cassette, at the time available at Staalplaat, and a cassette of S.M. Nurse on the independent label Top Tape.

At the end of 1983, S.M. Nurse split up. Anneke Stempher and Jos Jak recorded a cassette for TopTape under the name Incredible Coöp. Menko Konings continued solo under the name eM. He also started the formations Plastic Cocon and No Honey From These with Robby Horsfall. Top Tape released several cassettes and CD’s from eM. as well as No Honey From These.”

released February 27, 2017

All songs composed and performed by S.M. Nurse (1980-1983)

Anneke Stempher: compositions, vocals, instruments.
Jos Jak: compositions, vocals, instruments.
Menko Konings: compositions, vocals, instruments & guitars.

Male vocals That’s The Body: Robby Horsfall († 2013)
Remix That’s The Body: Fred Tabois A.K.A. Fredheadset

Mastered 2016 by Ruud Lekx